I do want to do something.


Could it be…or is it just fucked up?
March 21, 2008, 2:06 pm
Filed under: Beirut notes


These are some fragments of thoughts and conversations I had with some people since I arrived to Beirut. Maybe I’m too lazy to develop them, but that is also because the article I wrote on Chantal Mouffe scared me, it is so boring. I guess that I haven’t found the balance yet (love libranation !), my thoughts are ahead and my body behind. I’m trying to bring things together, but it ain’t easy. So instead of developing  melancholic, long and boring texts, I’ll stick to these pieces, write them down.

Some of these notes also stand in the title’s three dots. Several fashionable academic texts and ideas I have come across during this last year became almost ridiculous when seen through particular contexts (I’m referring to Lebanon) and so clearly the thrills of bored academics looking for new challenge.

 

There is no distance; this is the challenge for critical thought

Boredom is so creative

Big time/ small time

You wish you had a normal life, but you are an artist

The time of your life, of your child, is the time

The relation between the practice of the everyday and the disaster

Who sets the time and the space?

Chronotopia/dystopia/utopia

Hegemonic artistic community

The artist as “state” intellectual

Elitist populist

What is a public sphere?

What else to do but to exploiting misery, says the cool architect, (I think she is right)

Laboratory for whom?

Multitude, self-organization, bottom top, blablabla

If it’s not linear time, then what?

“Cute” is necessary

Our intimacy is not forced

There is no ruin here

Smoking as a private act

Creating rituals and private chronotopias  

Thanking god that Sara is here

Missing u so much so much

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I like fragments … they could be like ruins but they are not, each are so strong and so free, they raise many other questions, and other fragments to confront them.
You know we do suspect through your words some bumps in your arrival and installation in Lebanon

Comment by Sul




Leave a Reply

